Again three studies submitted.

There were numerous opportunities to take part in tourneys in October. I submitted three studies to three events. Two of them are again Agile Knight Studies, but this topic will soon be over for me.

 

One of these knight studies went to Pat a Mat, where Yochanan Afek is the judge. This study is not just a miniature, but it is also intended to be an improvement on a study by Ignace Vandecasteele (1926-2018), which Afek selected for Vandecasteele's obituary in EG (see below). I hope that was a good choice.

 

The second knight study is very combat-focused, similar to my still unsubmitted study that took part in the FIDE World Cup. It is a logical study and has even several tries. I have submitted it to Problem Paradise. Personally I prefer the World Cup study because the mainline is more spectacular, but without any tries judges presumably think different.

 

The third study submitted is for me a big step into a new topic: tactical studies. It was submitted to Michal Hlinka 70 JT. Tactical studies are the main stream and I thought I had to go into this direction better sooner than later. It felt unusual and downright difficult. And it's not a masterpiece, but a debut. Of course I hope it doesn't fail completely.


White to move and win.

Ignace Vandecasteele

Schakend Nederland, 1983 (see EG 214, p 252).

 

1. Nc6+ Kb7 2. Nd8+ Kc7 3. Ne6+ (3. e5 Kxd8 4. Kb4 Ke7 5. Kc3 b1=Q 6. Bxb1 Ke6 7. Kd4 ) 3... Kd6 4. Nf8 Ke5 5. Ng6+ Kf6 6. Nh4 Ke5 7. Nf3+ Kf4 8. Nd2 1-0

 

I learned that the cook 3.e5 was eliminated by an additional black pawn on b3, but I have no source for this.